Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting

Walking around the grocery store the other day, I found a product I had not seen before.  Campfire Marshmallow Zebras, bite size marshmallows drizzled with dark chocolate.  Well, we need to buy those and use them for something.  Hey, I have a jar of marshmallow creme to use too, so this is it.

…Now that I have broken my rule of eating just one of what I make for my daily post (I ate one cupcake last night and one this morning), I must tell you forget about the funny little marshmallows.  It is all about the taste of a from scratch chocolate cupcake and incredibly smooth, creamy, intensely chocolate frosting.  You are probably still thinking about the sad fact that I had a cupcake for breakfast, yes, I did and it was delicious!

Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting

Chocolate Cupcakes:
2 cups flour
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup butter, softened
3 eggs, room temperature
2 cups sugar
1 Tbl vanilla, yes Tbl
1½ cups milk

Preheat oven to 350°.  Line cupcake pans with cupcake papers (this recipe makes 24 cupcakes), set aside.  Stir together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in mixing bowl, set aside.

Beat butter on medium speed 30 seconds in large bowl.  Add eggs, then sugar gradually until fully combined.  Mix in vanilla,  add milk and flour mixture alternately on low speed. Beat on higher speed one minute, or until well combined and smooth.

Pour the batter into cupcake pan, filling each 2/3 full.

Bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the center of a cupcake. Cool.

Chocolate Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting:
1 cup butter, softened
1 jar (7oz) Marshmallow Creme
1/2 cup unsweetened baking cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups powdered sugar
4-6 tsp milk

Beat together butter, marshmallow creme, and vanilla.  Slowly mix in cocoa powder and powdered sugar.  Add milk one tsp at a time to make desired spreading consistency.  Frost cupcakes and add Zebra marshmallows.

If you are interested in Demarle bakeware such as the Muffin Tray please visit my Demarle at Home Personal Website at kristen.demarleathome.com or simply click on the Demarle at Home logo below.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting

  1. Hello, you darling baking lady! I’ve been blog-stalking your sugary goodness and I was wondering if you would mind if I put a link on my blog. We miss you guys and hope all the family is doing well! <3 Whit and the gang

  2. Hi! I made this frosting for my birthday cake yesterday and OMG, LOVE it! I skipped the milk and upped the cocoa powder and powdered sugar a bit and it was perfect. The milk thing probably depends on the temperature of the kitchen when preparing it, but I had just baked and yesterday was hot so it worked fine.

    Btw, found you via Pinterest and for some reason when I click the pin I found you from it warns me that the site is suspicious. My anti virus doesn’t warn me though so don’t know what’s up with that, but just thought you might want to know.

    • So glad the frosting turned out great! Sounds like you made the perfect adjustments. Temperature, humidity, so many variables that can change consistency. Thanks for the heads up about the “suspicious site”…gee funny, I don’t feel like I’m doing anything suspicious. Weird. ;o)

Leave a Reply

