Cheese Quick Bread

I was trying to chat and bake at the same time today and put my wheat and white flour bins away in my pantry in opposite spots. Then, I decided spur of the moment to throw together some cheese bread.  How can you measure out 3¾ cups of flour and not notice that it is wheat and not white flour???  It wasn’t until I had already stirred in the cheeses that I noticed what I had done.  I guess it’s one of those days when my brain is not fully engaged.  I know members of my darling family will read that last sentence and say, “one of many days”.  Ok, but what a great way to eat your whole wheat!  Try it, a delicious mistake.  Delicious with white flour too.


3¾ cups flour
2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese
5 tsp baking powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp garlic salt
1 tsp dill weed
1¼ cups milk
1/4 cup sour cream
2 eggs
1/3 cup oil
2 Tbl honey

Preheat oven to 350°.   In a large bowl combine flour, cheese, baking powder, onion powder, garlic salt, and dill weed.  In another bowl, whisk together milk, sour cream, eggs, oil, and honey.  Stir milk mixture into flour mixture until just moistened.  Pour into sprayed loaf pan and bake 60-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near center comes out clean.  Cool in pan on wire rack 10 minutes, remove loaf from pan to cool slightly on wire rack.  Serve warm.  Store leftovers sliced in refrigerator ready to toast and enjoy with butter!

I made another loaf with white flour.
Leave a Reply

