Peanut Butter Oatmeal Sandwich Cookies

In another post I told you about my random purchasing problem.  Sometimes at the grocery store I see a product and I am sure I need it, only to come home and realize I have thought the same thing the last two trips to the store.  So…the problem of three jars of marshmallow creme in my pantry, and the question, does anyone really need one jar of marshmallow creme?  What was I thinking, I am seriously starting to question my shopping abilities.  I need to make a list, and stick to it!  Ok, after making this recipe I am down to two jars of marshmallow creme in my pantry, good day.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Sandwich Cookies with Peanut Butter Marshmallow Creme

Cookies:
3/4 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
2 2/3 cups brown sugar
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2¼ cups flour
2 tsp cinnamon
1½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
4 cups old-fashioned oatmeal

Preheat oven to 350°.  In large bowl, cream butter, peanut butter, and brown sugar.  Add eggs, one at a time.  Add vanilla.  Stir together flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, and nutmeg.  Add to creamed mixture.  Stir in oatmeal.  Drop dough onto cookie sheet using cookie scoop to make uniform cookies.  Bake for 10-11 minutes, cool.

Filling:
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1 jar (7oz) marshmallow creme
2½-3 cups powdered sugar
2-4 Tbl milk

Cream peanut butter and marshmallow creme, add powdered sugar and milk to make spreading consistency.  Spread on bottom of half of the cookies and top with remaining cookies.

Leave a Reply

