Italian Zucchini Crescent Pie

I can remember making this with my mom when I was a teenager.  It has been a favorite of my kids.  It is a great way to eat your veggies, nice to have when you want a meatless meal.   As my kids have gotten older, I use a little more dijon mustard.  All these flavors work so well together, thanks to Pillsbury for this recipe.

Italian Zucchini Crescent Pie

4 cups thinly sliced zucchini
1 cup coarsely chopped onion
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup chopped parsley or 2 Tbl parsley flakes
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp basil
1/4 tsp oregano
2 eggs, beaten
2 cups (8 oz.) shredded mozzarella
1 (8 oz) can crescent rolls
2 tsp dijon mustard

Heat oven to 375°.  In large skillet, cook zucchini and onion in butter until tender (10 min.), remove from heat.  Add parsley, salt, pepper, basil, and oregano.  In large bowl, beat eggs and add cheese, stir into zucchini mixture.  Separate crescent rolls into 8 triangles.  Place in ungreased 11” quiche pan, flan pan or 12X8 dish.  Press over bottom and up sides to form crust.  Spread dijon mustard over dough.  Pour zucchini mixture over mustard.  Bake for 18-20 minutes or until knife comes out clean.  Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

I like to mix things up.  I had all my kids home for dinner today so I made two Zucchini Crescent Pies, but I wanted to make a change on one and see how my taste testers liked it (plus, I didn’t have quite enough zucchini for two pies).  It is the recipe above with a few changes.  Yes, my taste testers all liked it.

Zucchini & Tomato Crescent Pie

1½ cups thinly sliced zucchini
1 cup thinly sliced carrots
1 cup coarsely chopped onion
2 Tbl butter
1 (14.5 oz) can Italian style diced tomatoes
1/2 cup chopped parsley or 2 Tbl parsley flakes
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp basil
1/4 tsp oregano
3 eggs, beaten
2 cups (8 oz.) shredded mozzarella
1 (8 oz) can crescent rolls
4 tsp dijon mustard

Used a deep dish pie plate, used whole can of diced tomatoes including juice.  Letting the pie sit for at least 10 minutes after coming from the oven is crucial, it sets up for a nice slice.

Leave a Reply

