Lemon Crinkle Cookies

These disappeared quickly at our family dinner yesterday.  A sweet little cookie for lemon lovers.

                       

Lemon Crinkle Cookies

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla powder (can use extract)
1 large egg
2 tsp lemon zest
1 Tbl lemon juice
1½ cups flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350°.  Place Silpat on perforated sheet or spray cookie sheets with non-stick cooking spray.

In large bowl, cream butter and sugar. Mix in vanilla, egg, lemon zest, and lemon juice.  Stir in flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt, no powdered sugar yet.  Pour powdered sugar into a bowl.  Drop about four small scoops of dough into powdered sugar, roll and cover completely.  Place on cookie sheet, repeat with remaining dough.

Bake for 9-11 minutes or right before they start to brown, you want them to stay light.  Cookies made with 1″ scoop I baked 9 minutes and 1½” scoop I baked 10 minutes.  Cookies that don’t crinkle as well can be sprinkle with powdered sugar as they come from the oven.  Cool cookies on pan a few minutes before transferring to cooling rack.  Makes about 3 dozen (depending on the size).

If you are interested in Demarle bakeware and kitchen tools such as the Silpat please visit my Demarle at Home Personal Website at kristen.demarleathome.com or simply click on the Demarle at Home logo below.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Crinkle Cookies

  1. Well, I followed the recipe to the letter and my cookies certainly did not turn out like the pic – and I even made sure to roll them in extra icing sugar . . . be sure to follow the time exactly as well, as my first batch came out a little brown on the bottom ’cause you cannot tell when they are done since they do not brown at all on top. . . mine stayed quite like little hills and did not really ‘crinkle’ at all – just wondering what I am missing. But, overall they were definitely yummy 🙂

    • Charmaine, I felt so bad when I saw your comment that your cookies didn’t turn out just right. So, in my first spare moment I made these cookie again to make sure the recipe is right. I took more pictures, they did turn out the same. of course, I do always choose the best looking cookies for my pictures, for the ones that don’t crinkle just right they can be dusted with a little powdered sugar after. The cookies did flatten out, so I’m not sure where the trouble was with them staying like “little hills” (I’m sure they were cute little hills!). I hope this doesn’t deter you from visiting my site in the future, I always try to be precise and truthful in word and picture! I want everyone to have great baking success! Kristen

Leave a Reply

