Double Chocolate Walnut Brownies

I believe there is nothing quite as wonderful as a rich, moist, chocolatey brownie with nuts.  I really love nuts, I guess I got that from my mother.  Growing up she put nuts in everything she could, so I had to love nuts, they were just always there.  I feel bad for those who are allergic.   I teach a class of teenagers and each year a number of kids come up to me and tell me…I can’t have tree nuts, or I can’t have peanuts, or I am lactose intolerant, or I can’t have gluten.  Bummer!  Some truly have an allergy but I know some who’s mothers have just decided their whole family are going eat that way.  Again I say…Bummer!  Well, in gratitude of not being allergic to walnuts, I present this recipe.  If you are allergic, omit the walnuts and enjoy delicious double chocolate walnut free brownies.

3/4 cup butter
3/4 cup dark chocolate chips
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs, beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1½ cups chopped walnuts
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°.  Line 9×9 square pan with foil, leaving some overhanging to pull brownies out of pan, spray with non-stick spray.

In saucepan over medium low heat, melt butter and dark chocolate.  When just melted, remove from heat.  Whisk in sugar, beaten eggs, and vanilla.  Add flour and salt, mix thoroughly.  Fold in walnuts and semi-sweet chocolate.

Spread in prepared pan and bake for 30-35 minutes until center is set.  Cool in pan then when cool, pull brownies out of pan using overhanging foil.  Set on cutting board, remove foil and cut into squares.  A plastic knife and completely cooled brownies work best for neat pieces.

If you are interested in Demarle bakeware and kitchen tools please visit mydemarleathome.com/kristenparker or simply click on the Demarle at Home logo below.

Leave a Reply

