Cinnamon Apple Cake with Caramel Sauce

This is a favorite of mine.  Warm cinnamon apple cake with wonderful gooey caramel sauce served with cool cinnamon spice whipped cream or a scoop of french vanilla ice cream!  I have to admit I had this (a lot of it) for lunch today, that is why I am having a bowl of very healthy low-calorie cereal for dinner.  If I wrote down what I eat and a dietician took a look at it I believe they would faint.  I just ate some grapes, feeling pretty healthy right now.

Cinnamon Apple Cake:
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1½ tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
4 cups apples, peeled, cut into small chunks
1 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350°.  Cream butter and sugar.  Add eggs, mix well.  Mix in flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Fold in apples and pecans.  Spread batter in sprayed bundt pan and bake for 40-50 minutes.  This is the tricky part…as it bakes it looks dark so you think it’s done, be careful it is cooked through, you don’t want the center gooey and raw.  Test in center to make sure it is set.  Make individual cakes in muffin pan, makes about 20-24, baking time 25-30 minutes.

Caramel Sauce:
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla
pinch salt

In saucepan, melt butter over low heat.  Add sugar, brown sugar, heavy cream, vanilla, and salt.  Bring to boil slowly, stirring constantly.  Continue cooking and stirring for 5 minutes until thickens.

Cinnamon Spice Whipped Cream:
1 cup whipping cream
2-3 Tbl brown sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp cinnamon
dash nutmeg
Whip cream to soft peaks, then whip in brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Note:  This recipe is from a Demarle Cookbook.

If you are interested in Demarle bakeware such as the Muffin Tray and Perforated Sheet please visit mydemarleathome.com/kristenparker or simply click on the Demarle at Home logo below.

 

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Apple Cake with Caramel Sauce

  1. Hi Kristen
    , I love your site. I was wondering if this is the recipe that you once made using the daisy silicone mold ? I always wanted that recipe and if it isn’t this one, I think it was one similar to this? Am I right?

    • I am sure it is the one. This is a recipe from a Demarle cookbook with a couple additions. I am glad you like my site, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

