Pumpkin Pecan Dessert

I am not crazy about the name of this recipe.  Using the name dessert bothers me, it seems too generic, especially for something so incredibly delicious.  But, what do you name something that is part pie and part cake?  I guess, dessert.  There are many sites featuring this recipe and some call it Pumpkin Crunch Cake.  It is found at bettycrocker.com, tasteofhome.com, allrecipes.com, and many other places around the web.  I first saw it on my internet friend’s wonderful website thethankfulheart.wordpress.com.

I am upstairs and every once in awhile I think I hear a voice from the refrigerator calling me…it is that good!  If you want pumpkin pie and you are not in the mood to make and roll out pastry, this is a quick fix for you craving.  Here is my version…


1 can (15 oz) pumpkin puree
1 can (12 oz) evaporated milk
3 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1½ cups sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp salt
1 box white cake mix (can use yellow or spice)
1½ cups chopped pecans
1 cup butter, melted

Heat oven to 350°.  Spray bottom of 9″ x 13″ baking pan.  Mix pumpkin, milk, eggs, vanilla, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, and salt.  Pour mixture into prepared baking pan.  Sprinkle dry cake mix over pumpkin mixture and top with pecans.  Drizzle melted butter over pecans.  Bake 55-60 minutes.  Serve with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream if desired.  Keep refrigerated.

One Year Ago:  Happy Halloween Boo! Sugar Cookies  

If you are interested in Demarle bakeware and kitchen tools please visit mydemarleathome.com/kristenparker or simply click on the Demarle at Home logo below.

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pecan Dessert

  1. I made this dessert for a family gathering this evening. Turned out really well. I didn’t need to bake it for the whole 55-60 minutes. It ended up being closer to 45-50. I also didn’t have evaporated milk, so I used sweetened condensed instead and then didn’t add any sugar. I served it with whipped cream on top. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

