Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

I celebrated my birthday…a big birthday…50! My mom made her Red Velvet Cake, a tradition. This carrot cake recipe is the cake my daughter made for me, yes, two cakes! I am feeling so grateful for an amazing family and all the fun times we have together. Also grateful my daughter and my mother have such incredible baking abilities, I had a piece of each cake, so good! Here’s to another 50!

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

IMG_0789

Carrot Cake:
2 cups sugar
1½ cups oil
4 eggs
1 cup flour
1 cup wheat flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 Tbl cinnamon
2 tsp vanilla
3 cups grated carrots
3/4 cup chopped pecans
3/4 cup apple sauce
3/4 cup coconut

Preheat oven to 350°. Combine sugar and oil. Add eggs and mix well. Sift flour, wheat flour, soda, salt, and cinnamon. Add to sugar mixture. Add vanilla and grated carrot. Fold in pecans, applesauce, and coconut. Spray and flour two 8″ or 9″ round cake pans. Pour cake batter into cake pans, dividing evenly. Bake 45 minutes or until pick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cream Cheese Frosting:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 (8 oz) pkg cream cheese, softened
1 lb powdered sugar
1-2 tsp vanilla

with electric mixer, whip together butter and cream cheese. Add powdered sugar and vanilla. Frost completely cooled cake. A great recipe from a book called Worldwide Ward Cookbook.

One Year Ago: Peanut M&M Pretzel Peanut M&M Pretzel Cookies

Two Years Ago: Pineapple Coconut Muffins Pineapple Coconut Muffins with Almond Crunch

6 thoughts on “Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Happy birthday!
    I barely write but I read your blog, thanks for the easy and good recipes!
    But the main reason I write is to tell you: You don’t look like 50!! I thought you had around 40 :o. I hope my 50 looks like yours 😀

  2. I agree with Susana! You sure don’t look like 50! I thought you were younger too. When I turned 50, my mom wrote me about what a great decade it is, seeing your kids launch out, being able to travel and take up new challenges. And there’s those grand-babies that start to come… So here’s to your 50’s decade Kirsten! Happy, happy birthday.

  3. Happy belated 50! The cake cake surely looks enticing and mouth-watering too.
    thank you for sharing it with me.

    Edea

Leave a Reply

