Cakes

Brick Street Cafe Chocolate Cake

I am hoping to visit South Carolina someday, but for now I will settle for a big chocolate taste of the South. The Brick Street Cafe is in Greenville, SC and is famous for their cakes and pies. This recipe is said to be their cake named “The Best Chocolate Cake I’ve Ever Had”, it is definitely fudgy, chocolatey amazing!

Brick Street Cafe Chocolate Cake 2

Brick Street Cafe Chocolate Cake 1.jpg

Cake:
1 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
2 tsp vanilla
3 large eggs
2½ cups cake flour
1 cup unsweetened cocoa
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups buttermilk
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°. Liberally spray a bundt or tube pan. In large bowl with electric mixer, cream butter and sugar.  Mix in vanilla and eggs. Add cake flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt and buttermilk; mix thoroughly. Stir in chocolate chips. Pour into prepared pan and spread evenly. Bake 30 minutes, turn oven heat down to 325° and bake 30-40 minutes more. Test with cake tester. Cool in pan 15 minutes. Invert onto cooling rack and cool completely.

Chocolate Fudge Frosting:
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup water
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup unsweetened cocoa
3½ cups powdered sugar
2-4 Tbl heavy cream

In sauce pan over medium heat, melt and stir together butter, water, and vanilla. Remove from heat and stir in cocoa. Stir in powdered sugar. Stir in cream one tablespoon at a time, to achieve a creamy yet pour-able frosting to spread over top of cake and run slowly down the side and puddle. There is a lot of frosting, you can put half on and wait a bit for that to set up and then pour the remaining over frosting over (microwave the remaining frosting a few seconds to get it liquid enough to pour).

4 thoughts on “Brick Street Cafe Chocolate Cake”

  1. I made the Brick Street Cafe chocolate cake a few years ago. It was SUBLIME!! Whenever I think of chocolate cake that ‘s the one that calls to me.

  2. I love Brick Street Cafe. It is my favorite restaurant in Greenville. The sweet potato cake is everything!!

  3. My wife made two of these cakes for friends, for Valentine’s day. They were a huge hit. This is a very rich cake, She used dark cocoa powder and it came out awesome, This is a cake that she will make again and again.

  4. Followed the recipe almost exact except only did about 2 1/4 cup powdered sugar for the fudge was so decedent and pretty delicious I would make it again there’s plenty slices left I wrapped in plastic wrap I had to use up most of my cocoa powder but pretty delightful thank you for sharing

Leave a comment