Pies

German Chocolate Pie

I knew my parents were coming over today so I made a pie. I served them and they said it was the best chocolate pie they have ever had. Now it might just be my parents trying to make their little girl feel good about herself, but after I sent the rest of the pie home with them I sure was wishing I had more ;o). I love my parents, they are great! Even if they did exaggerate a little, I do think this pie is really good and you will be happy you took the time to make it!

German Chocolate Pie

1 pre-baked 9″ deep dish pie shell

Caramel Coconut Pecan Layer:
1/2 cup caramel ice cream topping
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup shredded coconut

Chocolate Cream Layer:
2 egg yolks
2 eggs
2 cup milk
3/4 cup sugar
3 Tbl corn starch
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
2 Tbl butter
6 oz chopped German chocolate (or 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips)

In small bowl, mix together caramel, pecans, and coconut, mixture will be thick. Gently spread over bottom of pre-baked pie shell.

In saucepan, whisk egg yolks, eggs, milk, sugar, corn starch and salt. Bring to boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Boil one minute then remove from heat. Stir in vanilla, butter, and chocolate. Cool to lukewarm, stirring occasionally. Pour into pie shell over caramel coconut pecan layer. Cover with parchment or wax paper and refrigerate at least 5 hours until chilled and set. Serve with whipped cream.

One Year Ago Today: Individual Coconut White Chocolate Cream Pies Toasted Coconut Cream Pies

If you are interested in Demarle bakeware and kitchen tools like the Round Trays and Perforated Sheets please visit mydemarleathome.com/kristenparker or simply click on the Demarle at Home logo below.

1 thought on “German Chocolate Pie”

  1. Love this post– We have parents nearby and I really like to cook for them too. They always like everything in the nicest sort of way-just like your folks! And I Love, Love German Chocolate Pie. I made it a couple times years ago, but they did not look this good! So this is on my what to bake next list. Thanks Kristen!

Leave a comment